The Netherlands Antilles were a constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands consisting of several island territories located in the Caribbean.All of the islands territories that belonged to the Netherlands Antilles remain part of the Kingdom today, although the legal status of each differs, and as a group they are still referred to as the Dutch Caribbean regardless of their legal status.
The name Netherlands Antilles is now a defunt designation. Aruba seceded in 1986 as a separate country within the Kingdom of the Netherlands, and the rest of the Netherlands Antilles was dissolved on 2010. 

The islands of the Netherlands Antilles are all part of the Lesser Antilles. Within the group of Lesser Antilles, the country was spread over two smaller island groups: the northern part of the Leeward Islands and the western part of Leeward Antilles. No part of the country was in the southern Windward Islands.
The Leeward Islands group which is located in the southern Caribbean Sea off the north coast of Venezuela consists three most westerly islands ,the  Aruba , the Bonaire including Little Bonaire island, Curaçao including the Little Curaçao island. The Leeward Islands collectively are known as the ABC Islands.

The Windward Islands group which is located in the eastern Caribbean Sea, to the east of Puerto Rico consists three islands which are the southern part of Sint Maarten , Saba and Sint Eustatius.They lie approximately about 800 kilometers north-east of the ABC Islands and they are known as the “SSS islands”.
The Netherlands Antilles had an equatorial climate, with hot weather all year round. The Leeward islands are subject to hurricanes in the summer months, while those islands located in the Leeward Antilles are warmer and drier.

Formerly part of the now-dissolved Netherlands Antilles,Statia became a special municipality of the Netherlands in 2010 and adopted the US dollar as its currency in 2011.  The Dutch, like the British, also hoped to create a single federation of all their Caribbean possessions – Curaçao, Aruba, Bonaire, Sint Maarten, St Eustatius and Saba – collectively known as the Netherlands Antilles.


  •    Aruba
  •    Bonaire
  •    Curacao
  •    Saba
  •    Sint Maarten
  •    Sint Eustatius